Call us for a free consultation

USA & Canada 800-779-2146 ​

Tanzania +255 767 360 006​​

The Serengeti Great Migration

The Serengeti Great Migration

What makes the Serengeti such a formidable location for game viewing throughout the year is its distinct seasonal changes that shape the migration’s pattern.

From late November to December, the migrating herds arrive on the short-grass plains of the east and south of Seronera valley, which also extends into the Ngorongoro Conservation Area—also known as the Ndutu Plains. This is an exciting location to be when the calving season takes place, where large herds of wildebeests and zebras gather to give birth simultaneously, and in turn triggering thrilling game hunting for the larger predators.

Until late February to March, the herds remain on the plains, feeding on the short and new grass, which is filled with valuable nutrition for lactating mothers. From the end of March to April, the herds begin to move west as they prepare for their migration towards the north.

By May until the end of June, the migrating ungulate is expected to pass through the Western Corridor, making the Grumeti River a spectacular sighting: a small migration crossing alongside the fiercely aggressive Nile crocodile.

The dry season begins from the end of June to July and lasts until the beginning to mid-October, where the herds will concentrate in the Northern Serengeti, making the Mara River one of the most popular destinations to see the great river crossing. With poignant scenes of confusion and panic among the herds, alongside successful crossing that takes place, this marks one of the most spectacular natural events in the world.

By the mid to end of October, the herds are heading back south again, through Western Corridor, Loliondo game controlled area, and Lobo area, as the animals return to find the fresh, green shoots on the short-plain grass.

Most people think Serengeti as just a vast endless grassy plain, but in reality, the ecosystem is comprised of a wide range of landscapes, with areas of acacia forest, Riverine vegetation, soda lakes, and the Granites Mountains. The Serengeti can essentially be divided into five different main zones, each of which has its own different characters and range of wildlife.



REGISTRATION: #133555   TALA: #004180